Ludobites 5.0 @ Gram & Papas

I got a reservation at Ludobites 5.0 @ Gram & Papas, finally!  I have been hearing great reviews from Yelp and KevinEats.  I got lucky on Opentable and reserved a party of 5,  on 9/3/2010 at 6:30pm.   I invited one my of my favorite clients and the owner’s wife =) and another good friends of mine. I was also excited because I got an email that Ludo’s Fried Chicken truck will be in front of Gram & Papas @ 8pm. We all were happy that we can try all his food at one sitting.  Are you ready, this is what we ordered:

Hot Miso Soup, Cherry Tomato, Uni Black Panini – our whole party loved this dish. The uni black panini was simple and dipped into the miso soup made the panini taste like a grilled cheese but with uni. I love uni. i hope ludo makes a uni ice cream or dessert one day.

Salmon “a l’ huile” Juniper Berries, Rainbow Carrot, Orange Ice, Pistachio – this was an okay dish, the taste was simple with citrus flavors with soft textures from the raw salmon and the crisp carrots. this was not one of our favorite dishes.

Heirloom Tomato Salad, Mozzarella Ice Cream, Basil Crumble – I really love heirloom tomatoes!  all of us liked this one too, I could ate a whole bowl of this by myself.  This is like a play on Caprese, which I love, but this was very different with so many flavors.

Raw Waygu Beef, Somen Noodle, Peanut Vinaigrette, Watermelon – this was a good dish too, we all liked it.  this was simple with lots of good flavors and no component was over over powering the waygu beef.  waygu any style is yummy.

Poached Egg, Potato Mousseline, Chorizo Condiment – this was another delicious dish.  the poached was cooked perfectly and complimented the potato and chorizo.  it was creamy and a great side dish.

Grilled Octopus, Oregano, Burnt Red Bell Pepper Polenta, Pineapple Aioli, Piment D’s Espellette Gelee – I love grilled octopus, this was good if not better than the one at Osteria Mozza.  Great dish!

Santa Barbara Prawn, Cinnamon Beurre Blanc, Beignet, Shrimp Powdered Sugar – Beignets were good the prawns were really small but really sweet.  this was an okay dish too.

Hot Foie Gras Dynamite, Raw Tuna, Lychee, Crackers – this was an amazing dish, I wish i had this plate to myself.  Oh my goodness the foie gras was cooked perfectly.  the spicy mayo went so well with the foie other components to this dish. we all loved this one! this is one of my favorites! Yummy!

John Dory, Saffron Risotto, Chanterelles Mousse Emulsion – this was also another one amazing dish.  The John Dory was also cooked perfectly, with the savory saffron risotto, mousse emulsion, was simply flavorful and the most tastiest risotto I’ve ever ate.  This was one my favorites!

Roasted Sonoma Saddle of Lamb, Goat Cheese, Candied Black Olive, Artichoke Salad, Mint Pesto –  we all didn’t really like this dish.

Marinated Steak “Korean Style”, Pickled Vegetables, Grilled Baby Corn, Crispy Bacon – This was a good dish, but for me it was a little more rare than i liked.  But good flavors and great korean marinade.

2 Caramel Souffle,  Grapefruit Gelee, Fleur Del Sel Ice Cream – I would have to say this Souffle was the best I’ve ever ate.  I want to learn how to make this at home!  This was amazing, the caramel flavors with the fleur del sel ice cream and the salt flavors was so delicious.  This was the last dish of the night and ended on a great note.

But before the souffles came out, my client knew one of the workers for Ludo’s Fried Chicken truck, and she brought us some samples to try.  the fried chicken wings and the fried chicken chunks were good. anything fried is good.  i liked the wings over the chunks, but both were good.  the honey mustard sauce and bbq sauce were good.

i am so lucky to have reservations for the last night of Ludobites 5.0, also to have good friends to enjoy the meal with, got to try all of Ludo’s concoctions, and met Kevin of http://Kevineats.com.  If I could go again, I would order the John Dory, Foie Gras Dynamite, Uni Panini, Grilled Octopus, Poached Egg, Heirloom Tomato, and Caramel Souffle.  I can’t wait for Ludobites 6.0.  I know where and when he’ll cook again, i just hope i can get reservations!

Thank you to Chef Ludo Lefebvre & Krissy Lefebvre for an amazing meal and for taking care of me and my party.  I will love to come back again and look forward to 6.0. Merci Beaucoup!!!

About grandeats

I love to eat!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ludobites 5.0 @ Gram & Papas

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

